The next project from us will be…. The Undead: Book Three, Asia

So, exciting news from us with regards to our next project. Michelle will start research for the next book in the zombie series in the new year. Again it will tell the story of what happened after the zombie outbreak happened and will cover Asia.

You can buy the first two books in paperback or as a Kindle e-book:

The Undead: Book One, Overview
What might life be like in a world beset by billions of human zombies? The Undead: Book One, Overview is an introduction to a nightmarish world in which the last few million humans are living in the shadow of a terrible and incurable virus that is drowning the species under a wave of billions of zombies. Book one focuses on how a British government would react to the crisis of suddenly finding that more than 58 million of its people had become highly infectious zombies and that the survivors are all infected with an incurable condition that will turn them into zombies upon death. The worldwide Infection Event occurred in 2020 and the dwindling human race has been struggling to survive in a poisoned world ever since.

The Undead: Book Two, North America
The sequel to The Undead: Book One, Overview looks at the worldwide RVS2 zombie pandemic as it happened in continental North America. Focusing on the emotional reality of life in the Crisis and the conditions on the ground of the new nation, United America, Book Two details the continuing survival of the Western superpower, even as it stares slow, inexorable oblivion in the face.

Find out how to buy these books at our webshop.

News round-up: Thursday 31st December 2015

Below are the interesting news stories I’ve found online today 🙂 (the last one for 2015!)

Are soundtracked books a stunt or the future of ebooks?
The Independent
http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/features/are-soundtracked-books-a-stunt-or-the-future-of-ebooks-a6791316.html

Anne Frank foundation fights plans to publish diary online on 1 January
The Guardian
http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/dec/31/anne-frank-foundation-fights-plans-publish-diary-online-1-january?

Is Dietland 2015’s Most Surprising Book About Women?
NY Mag
http://nymag.com/thecut/2015/12/this-2015s-most-surprising-book-about-women.html#

32 New Books To Add To Your Shelf In 2016
Huffington Post
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/new-book-releases-2016_5684607ae4b0b958f65b3a65

Biggest Book Trends: Print Is Back, and Everyone’s Reading Science Fiction
io9
http://io9.gizmodo.com/biggest-book-trends-print-is-back-and-everyones-readi-1750494059

The last 5 books I added to my Goodreads ‘to read’ list

One of the most excellent things about blogs is finding out about books that are out there that I haven’t read yet. These are the last five books I added to my ever expanding ‘to read’ list on Goodreads!

Click on the book cover to go directly to the Goodreads page. Each synopsis is taken from the relevant Goodreads page. Enjoy!

The Cat Who Came in from the Cold by Deric Longden
The little cat Deric Longden saw sitting forlornly on an upturned bucket belonged to the neighbours, but somehow when it began to rain it seemed only natural to bring him inside. Once there he slipped so easily into Deric and Aileen’s lives that there was an unspoken agreement that he had found his real home. Little did he know that he had entered the Longden world, in which the unexpected (almost) always happens. . .

Aileen being Aileen, it was probably inevitable that sooner or later the kitten would be trapped in the refrigerator. And Deric being Deric, the obvious way to thaw him back to life was to make a little coat for him out of a shrunken thermal vest. Thus the cat who came in from the cold got his name – Thermal – and joined the wonderful cast of characters in the ongoing Longden saga.
____________________________________________________________

The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth
Anna Forster, in the early stages of Alzheimer’s disease at only thirty-eight years old, knows that her family is doing what they believe to be best when they take her to Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. She also knows there’s just one another resident her age, Luke. What she does not expect is the love that blossoms between her and Luke even as she resists her new life at Rosalind House. As her disease steals more and more of her memory, Anna fights to hold on to what she knows, including her relationship with Luke.

When Eve Bennett is suddenly thrust into the role of single mother she finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind house. When she meets Anna and Luke she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna’s and Luke’s families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them.
____________________________________________________________

Within This Frame by Lindy Zart
It comes in the mail—a beautiful invitation that promises humiliation and horror. Unless Maggie Smiley, former child celebrity and now overweight recluse, gets her courage and motivation in check, along with her health.

The phone call offering fitness expert Lance Denton a chance to work with Maggie Smiley promises retribution. He messed up a lot as a punk kid on the too-fast road to stardom, and how he treated his co-star never left him. It is that—and a long list of secrets she doesn’t need to know—that has him show up at Maggie’s doorstep.
____________________________________________________________

Jenny Lopez Saves Christmas by Lindsey Kelk
Jenny Lopez has had a crappy twelve months.

Determined to turn her festive frown upside down, she plans a super winter getaway for her nearest and dearest: ski cabin in Vermont, the best Christmas tree the world has ever seen and more bottles of champagne than is possibly legal to transport across state lines.

But nothing goes to plan and before she knows it, Jenny’s awesome super funtimes Christmas has turned into a dry, dull couples’ retreat. But this is Jenny Lopez. She’s going to have the best Christmas known to man and she’s not prepared to accept anything less, even if it means snowshoe-ing to the nearest store and dragging a turkey three miles in the snow. Even if it means chopping up her beloved Christmas tree to start a fire. Even if it means standing up a hot, wealthy doctor (a doctor, people!) to make sure everyone gets the holiday they deserve.

With her best friends, Angela and Erin, by her side Jenny Lopez is determined to save Christmas. Whether it likes it or not.
____________________________________________________________

Every Time a Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington
An angel gets its wings…

Belle has taken all the Christmas decorations down. This year they won’t be celebrating.

As foster parents, Belle and Jim have given many children the chance of a happier start in life. They’ve loved them as if they were their own. They shouldn’t have favourites but little Lauren has touched their hearts. And now her mother is well enough to take her back and Belle can’t bear the loss.

Hence, Christmas is cancelled.

So when Jim crashes his car one icy December night, after an argument about Lauren, Belle can only blame herself. Everything she loves is lost. And Belle finds herself standing on The Ha’Penny Bridge wishing she had never been born.

But what happens to a Christmas wish when an angel is listening…

Will Belle realise, before it’s too late, that her life is the most wonderful life of all?

Inspired by the timeless tale of beloved Christmas movie, It’s a Wonderful Life, Carmel Harrington’s next book tells the story of Belle, a young woman and foster carer from Dublin who faces the hardest decision of her life this Christmas on The Ha’Penny Bridge.

Full of Irish charm, magic, and the warmth of the festive season this is an emotional, heartwarming story that will stay with you long after you’ve reached ‘The End’. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern & Jojo Moyes.

Carmel is the bestselling author of The Life You Left & Beyond Grace’s Rainbow, voted Romantic eBook of the Year 2013.

Audio extracts of our books

Something we’ve always been interested in, is having our books as audiobooks. We’re a bit (okay a lot!) low on funds, so I decided to record my own. I have created two audiobook extracts for both The Liverpool Vampire and Admin Is Hell, and I’m waiting to find out the verdict from the land of the internet peoples before I commit myself to creating them for the other eight books, as it takes so long to record them, edit them and then make them into YouTube friendly files. Please give me any feedback, positive or negative, as I’d like to improve on them if I can 🙂

Our webshop is now live!

Webshop screenshot

I have just realised that I’d mentioned previously that I was creating a new webshop where lovely customers would be able to buy one of our paperback books. Well, it’s finally live and ready to go!

I built it using Wix and I have to say that of all of the internet platforms I’ve used to build websites before, it’s the easiest site I’ve used! It’s so user friendly and I picked it up so quickly. I probably don’t use all of its functionality, but I’m really pleased with the website I ended up with!

I’m so proud of Michael; he hasn’t let his brain injury hold him back and he inspires me every single day.

So, take a peek and please let other readers know that we’re there 🙂

http://www.thewebshopofmichaelpugh.com

Thanks,
Jenny x